top of page

Always Dream for What You Love


I thought it’s the dream career

Seventeen years ago when I used to play at our balcony, I enjoyed playing with my imaginations of my dream job. I imagined that I have students seated on their chairs and I have big table from my Dad’s office which he brought home from his office that made my imagination reality. I grabbed my books from my school and other available books at home that have a good cover and perfect to carry on my arms. My Mom bought me a big size of chalk board and I bought white chalk marker to use writing on the board. So I set all those things at the balcony and felt that I’m really inside of the room. But more than anything else I will never forget that I used to wear my mother’s high black heels and small pouch bag. I also sometimes used her red lipstick that my mom always wonders that her lipstick were cut and smashed. I really felt so bad at that time because I don’t know how to use lipsticks but it made me so feminine like my teacher.

Our balcony floor was made of tiles so using my imagination, in one tile would be one student and his desk. I divide it perfectly in my mind, the space where I can across to the center and at the back. It was very realistic while I’m playing and where all the things I wanted to be. I make it real on my imagination. I really enjoyed playing being a teacher but never had I ever thought of becoming a teacher. I don’t know why, maybe some days I am but it’s really just a game and curiosity. I thought, yes, I want to be a teacher but I really don’t because in my mind there’s better things I want to do and there might other things I want to do as I grow up. I know being a teacher is not a joke and teachers should give attention and provide them what’s best for them because they are the second person to teach us how to learn to live.

I thought it’s the perfect career

Ever since when I was little I really love dancing in the crowed. I love to get involved in any performances whether it’s singing, dancing or acting on stage. I always make my parents proud whenever they watch me on stage. Even now and then they knew I have this talent that I’m good at. When I finally in to my junior year everyone thought about college and what would they want to be after going to this prestigious school. I am also excited about going into university. I asked my mom how universities do the grading system, the break time, the subjects and etc. I really don’t understand the curriculum and or the system in university. All I remember from asking mom that I will understand it when I actually get into university. But that’s not really my concern, on my senior year in high school I’m still not sure what course I will get or what future I will choose. I asked my friends what they will get in college and what university they are targeting. Usually in catholic school it really matters what university you will get accepted. They said if you got into very popular university it is easy for you to get a job in the end. These are all the things that keep knocking me during my senior year.

It’s already third grading period of my senior year and most of us got their universities and colleges and they already knew what course they want to do. I’ve been very focus on my grades on senior year that getting into university is my last priority because I don’t really know what I want to do. I’ve been exposed to extracurricular activities at school. On graduation day, I got a special award of best performing arts. It’s a surprise award to all special awardees. I never thought I can go on stage on my high school graduation day. Standing and receiving a medal on stage is one of my parents dream to us and it’s very surreal! I never thought that our final exam in Physical Education would be a big break to my senior year and to my career. We had a final test that has something to do on the topic theater production which our high school teacher set the whole class a big production team. We voted each and everyone a role for the production and I was so busy playing some other roles on our school activities. Since then my classmates believe that I have the ability to portray the main role due to my performances outside of the class. I was so proud that they have chosen me to be the lead role that all I thought at first I will fail but with help of my classmates I executed my role perfectly. My days became so hectic and crazy that even in a day I wasn’t able to go on regular class. Due to my finals in Physical Education the principal acknowledge my professionalism in performance that brought me to consecutive play productions of school and other activities on stage.

It’s already end of the year and my mom start to ask me what course I will be taking. I love to do everything, I want to experience everything, but my mother said think of something where you enjoy a lot and you excel. And she said why not Mass Communication so you could be News Anchor just like Karen Davila (Philippine News Anchor that my parents named after me). My mom said “You love showing your talents, you can dance, and sing (not anymore since I was 12 years old) and you don’t have stage fright.” Then I learn, yes why not. I got in to one of the popular university in Philippines and took Mass Communication. I enjoyed my course but during my career I was influenced of doing a business with my friends. Until I graduated I love building a partnership business with my friends that still I can apply what I learned on my course.

I didn’t end up going to news center one is that for a thousand of college in the Philippines and a million of Mass Communication graduates in Philippines the competition is not easy and we just have two really well known Television Network in Philippines. The rest for me is really lucky to get accepted. They said we have plenty of jobs we could go to and all are decent. I tried but I think I was on the very end list. So then I was so desperate to get a job and learned that if I get enough savings I will just build my own money, and open a business. That made me realized what I really like to do and wished that Entrepreneurship or Business Management or other related is the career I took.

My Future Career

I was nineteen years old that I finally realized what I love to do. Four years of studying of Bachelor in Mass Communication is not a game it’s a mix of joy, fun, learning’s and experiences that most of the time I really embraced. College was a really big environment and something you really treasure in your life. I met friends that made me a person and know myself better. Since when I was young I really love to be creative. I love art, and whatsoever girly stuff. Then I met this girl in college she lead me to fashion industry and on blogging. Then that’s the start of me being so matured and found what I really want to do. I know for others it’s not that really achievement compared to studying law, medicine, accountancy or engineering. What I do believe is you will be successful for as long as you enjoy what you are doing and that you learn to share to other people.

As I graduated from my college career, it was a big competition outside. I tried but I figured out that this is not what I really want to do. I looked for a job any related job that suits my abilities. On my thoughts I want to work to any company that is big, known, where you can sit on a nice desk and walk in the building caring papers and perfectly wearing a good fashionable office clothes. That’s how my dream is. But I don’t really know what I want. I tried and just go on. While working I dreamt of becoming a blogger as my part time job but it hinders me from fulfill it. Ever since I knew about blogging I dreamed to be one of them. They get paid, they got to see places, and it’s just the way of their life that they can enjoy and earn form it. I also love to see this happening if I get a business that will partner on my work. And from here I still believe I will be one of them because I will never stop for this is what I am.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page